top of page
Zeta Omircon Sigma Chapter Photo.

The Ladies of Zeta Omicron Sigma


Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922, in Indianapolis, Indiana, by seven young educators: Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Vivian Irene White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Annette Dulin Redford, Bessie Mae Downey Rhoades Martin, and Cubena McClure. 

The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to the Alpha chapter at Butler University. Since its inception, the dynamic women of Sigma Gamma Rho have built and sustained a well-known and well-respected reputation for leading positive change to help uplift the community through sisterhood, leadership, and service.

Chapter History

Zeta Omicron Sigma Alumnae Chapter was chartered on May 17, 1986, by 7 Sensational Sigmas: Andrea Bailey, Renata Lacey Bell, Letina Daniels, Latonya Reynolds, Cheryl Jordan (Sherman), Belinda Stevens, and Jeneva Wiggs.  March 2, 2000, the chapter was reactivated. 


The Members of Zeta Omicron Sigma chapter are committed to increasing the awareness of the duties of Sigma by implementing civic, educational, and social programs that positively impact the Bolingbrook community. 

7 Founders
Sisterhood following our chapter meeting.

Our Mission

It is the mission of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. to enhance the quality of life for women and their families in the U.S. and globally through community service, civil, and social action. Our goal is to achieve greater progress in the areas of education, health awareness, and leadership development. Our members, affiliates, staff, and community partners work to create and support initiatives that align with our vision.







bottom of page